Snow Removal
EGO vs Greenworks Snow Blower: Which Cordless Brand to Buy
Quick answer
At the same price, the EGO SNT2122 is the stronger single-stage buy: a 42-foot throw against 30 feet, a published 10-car runtime rating and a 5-year tool warranty. The Greenworks Pro 60V 22 makes sense if you already own Greenworks 60V batteries. For two-stage capacity, EGO is the brand in our catalog.
EGO Power+ SNT2122 21 in. Single-Stage Snow Blower Kit
$699.0021 in, 42 ft throw, two 4.0Ah batteries.
Best for: first-time cordless buyers with a standard two-car driveway
Check price on Amazon
Greenworks Pro 60V 22 in. Brushless Single-Stage Snow Blower Kit
$699.9922 in, 30 ft throw, two 5.0Ah batteries.
Best for: Greenworks 60V households clearing a paved driveway after moderate storms
Check price on AmazonThese two kits cost almost exactly the same, $699.00 for the EGO and $699.99 for the Greenworks, and both are single-stage machines with a 13-inch intake for paved surfaces. The Greenworks cuts an inch wider. The EGO throws 12 feet farther, publishes a runtime rating and lists a longer warranty in its Amazon description.
The bigger question is often the battery platform you are buying into, because the batteries run your mower, blower and trimmer too. If you already own either brand, that usually settles it. If you own neither, read on. This comparison is drawn from published specifications and owner reports, rather than side-by-side testing. The guide to choosing a battery tool platform goes deeper on the ecosystem decision.
On this page
- How do the EGO and Greenworks snow blowers compare on specs?
- Should I buy the EGO or the Greenworks snow blower?
- Does throw distance matter on a residential driveway?
- Does EGO or Greenworks make a better two-stage snow blower?
- What do owners commonly report about cordless single-stage snow blowers?
- Which EGO and Greenworks snow blowers are worth considering?
How do the EGO and Greenworks snow blowers compare on specs?
| EGO SNT2122 | Greenworks Pro 60V 22 | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $699.00 | $699.99 |
| Type | Single-stage, paved only | Single-stage, paved only |
| Clearing width | 21 in | 22 in |
| Intake height | 13 in | 13 in |
| Maker-rated throw | 42 ft | 30 ft |
| Batteries in the kit | Two 56V 4.0Ah | Two 60V 5.0Ah, dual-port charger |
| Published runtime | 10-car driveway of 8 in snow per charge | Not stated in the listing |
| How it uses two batteries | Peak Power combines both | Dual ports with auto-switchover |
| Chute | 180 degrees | 180 degrees plus 45-degree deflector |
| Auger and extras | 6-in steel auger, adjustable skid shoes, IPX4, LED lights | Brushless motor, dual LED headlights |
| Warranty in listing | 5-year tool, 3-year battery | Not stated in the listing; check Greenworks terms |
Specifications from each maker's Amazon listing. Runtime ratings are manufacturer figures under their stated conditions.
Should I buy the EGO or the Greenworks snow blower?
Choose EGO if:
- You own no battery tools yet and want the brand with a full two-stage lineup to grow into.
- Your driveway is wide or snowbanks get tall late in the season, where a 42-foot throw helps.
- You want a published runtime rating and warranty terms you can read before buying.
- You may later want the EGO SNT2405 or a cordless snow shovel on the same batteries.
Choose Greenworks if:
- You already own Greenworks 60V tools and batteries.
- You want the extra inch of width and the adjustable deflector for aiming snow.
- You like larger 5.0Ah packs with automatic switchover between them.
- You want the budget Greenworks 80V 20-inch ($529.99) if you are on the 80V platform instead.
Does throw distance matter on a residential driveway?
More than it seems. When you clear a 22-foot-wide two-car driveway from the center outward, each throw only needs to clear about 11 feet plus the snowbank. Early in the season, 30 feet is plenty. By late winter, banks along the edges can be several feet tall and wide, and a short throw drops snow on top of the bank or back onto the pavement. That is when the EGO's 42 feet earns its keep.
Throw distance also matters for wind. Throwing into a breeze shortens every rating, so a machine rated at 30 feet may land snow at 20. If your driveway runs along a street or a neighbor's walk, you need enough throw to aim snow toward the lawn side, not just away from you.
Does EGO or Greenworks make a better two-stage snow blower?
In our catalog, EGO is the only one of the two with two-stage machines. Its range runs from the tool-only SNT2420 at $1,199.00 through the kit SNT2405 to the 28-inch SNT2807, all with 20 to 21-inch intakes and 50 to 60-foot throws. That matters if you have gravel or plow berms, which single-stage machines of either brand cannot handle.
If you want a Greenworks two-stage, search current listings from the brand and compare intake height, drive type and runtime rating against the EGO numbers above. Our best battery snow blowers roundup covers every battery machine in the catalog.
What do owners commonly report about cordless single-stage snow blowers?
Across both brands, the recurring themes in owner reviews are consistent. Praise centers on push-button starting, the lack of fumes and noise, and light weight that makes a single-stage easy to carry up steps or onto a deck. Complaints center on the same physics: runtime falling short in wet, heavy snow; the machine riding up on the dense plow ridge; and snow blowing back in a headwind. Those are single-stage limits, not brand defects, and a two-stage is the fix.
Which EGO and Greenworks snow blowers are worth considering?
EGO Power+ SNT2122 21 in. Single-Stage Snow Blower Kit
$699.00Steel auger, 42-foot throw, adjustable skid shoes and a 5-year tool warranty on a kit rated for a 10-car driveway of 8-inch snow.
Best for: paved two-car driveways
Check price on Amazon
Greenworks Pro 60V 22 in. Brushless Single-Stage Snow Blower Kit
$699.99A 22-inch path and 13-inch intake with dual 5.0Ah batteries that switch over automatically and a 45-degree deflector.
Best for: Greenworks 60V owners
Check price on Amazon
EGO Power+ SNT2420 24 in. Two-Stage Snow Blower (Tool Only)
$1,199.00A 24-inch two-stage with 14-inch airless tires, IPX4 rating and a joystick chute, for owners who already have EGO batteries.
Best for: EGO owners who need gravel and berm capacity
Check price on AmazonHow we chose
We did not test these products in person. Picks are researched from manufacturer specifications and owner manuals, engine and safety certifications where they apply, warranty terms, public recall records, and the recurring themes in verified owner reviews. We favor established brands with large review counts and parts support, match each pick to a real yard size or task, and place it in the tier where its price and capability actually belong.
Frequently asked questions
Is EGO better than Greenworks for snow blowers?
In our catalog, EGO has the edge. At the same price, the EGO SNT2122 throws 42 feet against 30 feet for the Greenworks Pro 60V 22, publishes a 10-car runtime rating and lists a 5-year tool warranty. EGO also offers two-stage machines for gravel and heavy snow. Greenworks is the better buy mainly for households already invested in Greenworks 60V or 80V batteries.
Can EGO and Greenworks batteries be swapped between brands?
No. EGO uses its 56V ARC Lithium system and Greenworks uses separate 40V, 60V and 80V platforms, and none of them are cross-compatible without third-party adapters, which void warranties and are not recommended. Pick a snow blower on the platform you already own or plan to expand, because the batteries are the most expensive part of each tool and sharing them is where the savings come from.
Will a Greenworks or EGO single-stage work on a gravel driveway?
Neither should be used on gravel. Single-stage augers contact the ground and will pick up and throw stones, damaging the machine and endangering people, cars and windows. EGO lists adjustable skid shoes on the SNT2122 for uneven terrain, but that does not make a single-stage safe on loose stone. For gravel, choose a two-stage, such as the EGO SNT2405 or a gas two-stage.
How many batteries come with the EGO and Greenworks snow blowers?
Both kits include two batteries. The EGO SNT2122 comes with two 56V 4.0Ah batteries and a charger, and EGO rates it for a 10-car driveway of 8-inch snow per charge. The Greenworks Pro 60V 22-inch kit includes two 60V 5.0Ah batteries and a dual-port charger. The Greenworks 80V 20-inch kit includes one 4.0Ah battery and a fast charger.
Which is easier to store, EGO or Greenworks?
Both single-stage kits are compact compared with any two-stage. EGO lists a quick-fold, height-adjustable handle on the SNT2122, which helps it fit in a smaller corner. Wherever you store the machine, store the batteries separately indoors, at the charge level the manual recommends, rather than leaving them in the tool in a cold garage all summer.
Researched, not professional advice. This page is compiled from published specifications, manuals, labels and owner-review consensus, not hands-on testing. Follow the manufacturer's instructions and product label, and consult a qualified professional where safety, chemicals, fuel or structures are involved. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.