Snow Removal
Greenworks Pro 60V 22 in Snow Blower Review: Single-Stage Kit
Quick answer
The Greenworks Pro 60V 22-inch is a sensible buy for Greenworks 60V households clearing a paved one or two-car driveway after moderate storms: brushless motor, 22-inch path, 13-inch intake and two 5.0Ah batteries. Skip it for gravel, plow berms or wide driveways, where its 30-foot throw and single-stage design fall short.
The Greenworks Pro 60V 22 in. Brushless Single-Stage Snow Blower Kit costs $699.99 with two 60V 5.0Ah batteries and a dual-port charger. Greenworks lists a 22-inch clearing width, 13-inch clearing depth, up to 30 feet of discharge, a brushless motor, dual battery ports with automatic switchover, a 180-degree rotating chute with a 45-degree deflector and dual LED headlights.
This review uses Greenworks' published specifications, the listing and owner-review themes; we have not run it ourselves. It is priced within a dollar of the EGO SNT2122, so the real decision is usually which battery platform you already own. It appears in the best battery snow blowers roundup; confirm single-stage is enough with the snow blower size calculator.
On this page
- Greenworks Pro 60V 22 in. Brushless Single-Stage Snow Blower Kit specs
- What is the Greenworks Pro 60V 22-inch best at?
- What is the biggest drawback of the Greenworks Pro 60V 22-inch?
- What do owners commonly report?
- Who should buy the Greenworks Pro 60V 22-inch, and who should skip it?
- How does it compare with the alternatives?
- How much driveway will one set of batteries clear?
- What about warranty, certification and recalls?
- Alternatives to the Greenworks Pro 60V 22 in. Brushless Single-Stage Snow Blower Kit
Greenworks Pro 60V 22 in. Brushless Single-Stage Snow Blower Kit specs
| Spec | Value |
|---|---|
| Stages | 1 |
| Clearing width | 22 in |
| Intake height | 13 in |
| Throw distance | 30 ft |
| Voltage | 60V |
| Battery | 5 Ah |
| Battery included | Yes |
| Headlight | Yes |
| Drive | none |
| Gravel safe | No |
| Motor | Brushless |
| Battery ports | Two, with automatic switchover |
| Charger | Dual-port charger included |
| Chute | 180 degree rotation, 45 degree deflector |
| Lighting | Dual LED headlights |
Specs from Greenworks' published specifications and the Amazon listing.
What is the Greenworks Pro 60V 22-inch best at?
Giving 60V Greenworks owners a capable driveway blower that shares their batteries. If you already own a Greenworks Pro 60V mower, trimmer or blower, this kit adds two more 5.0Ah batteries and a dual-port charger to the household, which is a real saving across the whole tool set.
The dual battery ports with automatic switchover are the design detail that matters. Rather than draining two batteries together, the machine switches to the second battery when the first is spent, so you can pull a depleted pack and put it on the charger while you keep clearing. The two packs together total about 600 Wh nominal (60V times 5.0Ah times two), more than the EGO SNT2122's roughly 448 Wh.
The 22-inch path is an inch wider than most battery single-stage machines. On a 24 by 24-foot driveway it takes about 16 passes and 8 minutes of moderate snow at a steady pace, versus 17 passes at 21 inches. The chute rotation and deflector let you redirect snow without stopping.
What is the biggest drawback of the Greenworks Pro 60V 22-inch?
The 30-foot discharge. The EGO SNT2122 at nearly the same price lists 42 feet. On a two-car driveway 20 to 24 feet wide, snow needs to travel roughly 12 to 20 feet to clear the edge bank, so 30 feet works in dry snow but leaves little margin late in the season or in wet snow.
The listing also does not give a per-charge coverage rating or warranty terms, both of which EGO states. Check Greenworks' warranty for the tool and batteries before buying.
And it is a single-stage machine. The 13-inch intake cannot take a compacted plow berm in one pass, and a single-stage auger working near the surface can throw stones, so it is not for gravel driveways. For those jobs look at a two-stage such as the EGO SNT2405 or the gas WEN SB209E.
What do owners commonly report?
Praise themes in verified owner reviews of Greenworks 60V snow blowers:
- Sharing batteries with the rest of their Greenworks 60V tools.
- Quiet, instant starting and easy storage compared with gas.
- Good performance in light to moderate dry snow.
- LED headlights for early morning clearing.
Complaint themes:
- Short throw distance, especially in wet snow.
- Struggles with plow berms and heavy, wet accumulation.
- Chute clogging in sticky snow.
- Runtime in wet snow lower than owners expected.
Who should buy the Greenworks Pro 60V 22-inch, and who should skip it?
Buy it if
- You already own Greenworks Pro 60V tools.
- You clear a paved one or two-car driveway, walks and patio.
- Your storms are usually under 8 inches.
- You want to swap batteries mid-job using the auto-switchover ports.
Skip it if
- You are not on a battery platform yet; the EGO SNT2122 lists a longer throw and warranty.
- You have gravel or a heavy plow berm; buy a two-stage.
- Your driveway is wide and snowbanks build high.
- You are on Greenworks 80V; the Greenworks 80V 20-inch kit uses that platform for $529.99.
How does it compare with the alternatives?
| Greenworks Pro 60V 22 | EGO SNT2122 | Greenworks 80V 20 | RYOBI 40V 18 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Model | Greenworks 60V 22 kit | SNT2122 kit | Greenworks 80V kit | RY40890VNM |
| Price | $699.99 | $699.00 | $529.99 | $902.44 |
| Clearing width | 22 in | 21 in | 20 in | 18 in |
| Intake height | 13 in | 13 in | Not on listing | Not on listing |
| Throw | 30 ft | 42 ft | Not on listing | Not on listing |
| Batteries | Two 5.0Ah, 60V | Two 4.0Ah, 56V | One 4.0Ah, 80V | One 6.0Ah, 40V |
| Nominal battery energy | About 600 Wh | About 448 Wh | About 320 Wh | About 240 Wh |
| Per-charge rating | Not stated | 10 cars, 8 in snow | Not stated | Not stated |
Nominal energy is voltage times amp-hours times battery count; a rough guide only. Specs from maker listings.
How much driveway will one set of batteries clear?
Greenworks does not publish a coverage rating for this kit, so the best available estimate comes from comparing stored energy. The two 5.0Ah packs hold about 600 Wh nominal. EGO rates its SNT2122, a similar 21-inch single-stage with about 448 Wh, at a 10-car driveway of 8-inch snow. If the machines used energy at similar rates, 600 Wh would stretch to roughly 13 car spaces, around 2,600 sq ft. Motors, augers and ratings differ, so treat that as a rough ceiling, not a promise.
- 1-car driveway, 10 by 20 ft: many clearings per charge.
- 2-car driveway, 24 by 24 ft: likely several clearings in light, dry snow; fewer in wet snow.
- 12 by 100-foot lane: probably one or two clearings; consider a two-stage.
Compare long-run costs with the gas vs battery cost calculator and see the 1-car driveway in moderate snow page.
What about warranty, certification and recalls?
The listing does not state warranty terms, so read Greenworks' published tool and battery warranty for this model before buying, and register the product. Battery tools have no engine emissions certification; look for a UL or ETL mark on the batteries and charger.
Check the CPSC recall database at cpsc.gov/Recalls for this model before buying, and before buying used. Charge and store batteries indoors at room temperature and away from flammable materials, and let a cold battery warm up before charging. The battery snow blower buying guide covers cold-weather battery care.
Alternatives to the Greenworks Pro 60V 22 in. Brushless Single-Stage Snow Blower Kit
EGO Power+ SNT2122 21 in. Single-Stage Snow Blower Kit
$699.00A 42-foot throw, a published 10-car per-charge rating and a 5-year tool warranty at almost the same price.
Best for: first-time cordless buyers with a standard two-car driveway
Check price on Amazon
EGO Power+ SNT2405 24 in. Self-Propelled Two-Stage Snow Blower Kit
$1,649.00A 20-inch intake, 50-foot throw and self-propel for plow berms, deep storms and gravel.
Best for: mid-sized driveways that get deep, wet snow and end-of-driveway plow piles
Check price on Amazon
Greenworks 80V 20 in. Brushless Snow Blower Kit
$529.99A lower-cost 20-inch brushless kit for households already on the Greenworks 80V battery platform.
Best for: owners already on the Greenworks 80V battery platform
Check price on AmazonHow we chose
We did not test these products in person. Picks are researched from manufacturer specifications and owner manuals, engine and safety certifications where they apply, warranty terms, public recall records, and the recurring themes in verified owner reviews. We favor established brands with large review counts and parts support, match each pick to a real yard size or task, and place it in the tier where its price and capability actually belong.
Sources
- Greenworks Pro 60V 22 in. snow blower operator manual
- Greenworks published specifications and warranty terms
- Amazon product listing and feature specifications
- CPSC recall database
- Owner review themes from verified Amazon purchasers
Frequently asked questions
EGO vs Greenworks snow blower: which is better?
At this size, the EGO SNT2122 lists a longer 42-foot throw, a 10-car per-charge rating and a 5-year tool warranty, while the Greenworks Pro 60V is an inch wider with larger batteries and auto-switchover. EGO also offers two-stage models Greenworks does not match. Buy the platform you own. See EGO vs Greenworks.
How deep of snow can the Greenworks 60V 22-inch handle?
Greenworks lists a 13-inch clearing depth, and it performs best in light to moderate snow under about 8 inches. Deeper snow is possible in partial-width, shallow passes, but a compacted plow berm is beyond what a single-stage handles well. Clearing during long storms rather than after keeps depth within its comfortable range and saves battery.
What does auto-switchover mean on the Greenworks snow blower?
The machine holds two batteries and draws from one at a time, switching to the second automatically when the first runs down. That lets you pull the empty pack and start charging it while you keep clearing on the second. Using two 5.0Ah packs gives about 600 Wh of nominal stored energy for the job.
Can the Greenworks Pro 60V 22-inch clear gravel?
It is not recommended. A single-stage auger works close to the surface and can pick up and throw stones, which can damage windows and cars or injure people. For gravel driveways choose a two-stage snow blower, which rides on skid shoes above the surface, such as the EGO SNT2405 or the WEN SB209E.
Researched, not professional advice. This page is compiled from published specifications, manuals, labels and owner-review consensus, not hands-on testing. Follow the manufacturer's instructions and product label, and consult a qualified professional where safety, chemicals, fuel or structures are involved. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.