Grills and Griddles
Broil King Baron 520 Pro Review: 5-Burner Propane Gas Grill
Quick answer
Buy the Broil King Baron 520 Pro if you cook for crowds or want real indirect cooking: five stainless Dual-Tube burners, 45,000 BTU and 570 sq in of primary space, 780 sq in total. Skip it if you mostly sear steaks for four, where a three-burner Weber is simpler and cheaper.
The Broil King Baron 520 Pro Gas Grill (Propane) (model 876214) costs $1,174.00. The listing is brief but gives the numbers that matter: five stainless steel Dual-Tube burners, 45,000 BTU of main burner output, 570 sq in of primary cooking space and 780 sq in total including a stainless warming rack, built for a 20 lb propane tank sold separately.
This review uses Broil King's published specifications, the listing and verified owner-review themes; we have not cooked on it ourselves. It is the grate-area value pick in our best gas grills roundup. Confirm how much space you need with the grill size calculator.
On this page
- Broil King Baron 520 Pro Gas Grill (Propane) specs
- What is the Broil King Baron 520 Pro best at?
- What is the biggest drawback of the Broil King Baron 520 Pro?
- What do owners commonly report?
- Who should buy the Broil King Baron 520 Pro, and who should skip it?
- How does it compare with the alternatives?
- How long will a 20 lb tank last on the Baron 520 Pro?
- What about warranty, certification and recalls?
- Alternatives to the Broil King Baron 520 Pro Gas Grill (Propane)
Broil King Baron 520 Pro Gas Grill (Propane) specs
| Spec | Value |
|---|---|
| Burners | 5 |
| Output | 45,000 BTU |
| Primary cooking area | 570 sq in |
| Total cooking area | 780 sq in |
| Hood | Yes |
| Model number | 876214 |
| Burner type | Stainless steel Dual-Tube |
| Warming rack | Stainless steel (included in the 780 sq in total) |
| Fuel | Liquid propane, 20 lb tank not included |
Specs from Broil King's published specifications and the Amazon listing.
What is the Broil King Baron 520 Pro best at?
Multi-zone and indirect cooking on a wide grate. Five burners give you far more control than three. You can run the two outer burners on medium with the middle three off for a rack of ribs or a whole turkey, run a hot sear zone at one end with a warm holding zone at the other, or light everything for a crowd. With 570 sq in of primary space there is room for about 25 to 30 burgers at once.
Broil King's Dual-Tube burner design places two tubes in each burner, meant to spread flame more evenly across the width of the cookbox than a single tube, and the stainless construction resists corrosion. The 780 sq in total includes a stainless warming rack for buns, vegetables and resting meat.
For regular party hosts, grate area is what saves time. A three-burner grill forces two or three rounds for 12 people; the Baron can often do it in one. See grill size for a party of 10.
What is the biggest drawback of the Broil King Baron 520 Pro?
The listing leaves a lot out. Grate material, cookbox construction, ignition type, side burner status and warranty terms are not in the feature bullets. For a $1,174.00 grill, get Broil King's full spec sheet and warranty for model 876214 before buying rather than assuming it matches the Regal line's 15-year warranty.
The second point is heat density. 45,000 BTU across 570 sq in is about 79 BTU per square inch. The Broil King Regal S 420 Pro puts 50,000 BTU across 500 sq in, about 100 per square inch. BTU is not the only factor in searing, since grate mass, lid seal and burner layout matter too, but steak-focused cooks may prefer a grill with a dedicated sear or infrared burner.
Finally, a five-burner cart grill is large and takes a long assembly session. Plan space on the patio and a second pair of hands.
What do owners commonly report?
Praise themes in verified owner reviews of Broil King Baron grills:
- Heavy, solid construction and good heat retention.
- Even heat across the wide grate.
- Plenty of space for crowds and for indirect cooking.
- Stainless burners that hold up over seasons.
Complaint themes:
- Long assembly time.
- Searing intensity lower than on grills with infrared or dedicated sear burners.
- Propane use when all five burners run for long cooks.
- Shipping damage on a large boxed grill; inspect on arrival.
Who should buy the Broil King Baron 520 Pro, and who should skip it?
Buy it if
- You regularly cook for 8 to 15 people.
- You roast, do low and slow indirect cooks or want several heat zones at once.
- You want the most stated grate area near $1,200.
- You have a patio with room for a large cart grill.
Skip it if
- You cook for four; the Weber Spirit E-325 costs less than half.
- Searing steaks is your priority; look for an infrared sear burner like the Napoleon Prestige 500 RSIB.
- You want a rotisserie and side burner; the Regal S 690 Pro IR has both.
- Patio space is tight; a folding-shelf grill like the Napoleon Rogue 525 fits smaller spaces.
How does it compare with the alternatives?
| Broil King Baron 520 Pro | Weber Genesis E-325 | Broil King Regal S 420 Pro NG | Broil King Regal S 690 Pro IR | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Model | Baron 520 Pro | Genesis E-325 | Regal S 420 Pro | Regal S 690 Pro IR |
| Price | $1,174.00 | $849.00 | $1,359.00 | $2,699.00 |
| Fuel | Propane | Propane | Natural gas | Propane |
| Main burners | 5 Dual-Tube | 3 PureBlu | 4 Dual-Tube | 6 Dual-Tube |
| Main BTU | 45,000 | Not on listing | 50,000 | 60,000 |
| Primary area | 570 sq in | Not on listing | 500 sq in | 750 sq in |
| Total area | 780 sq in | Not on listing | 695 sq in | 1,150 sq in |
| Warranty on listing | Not stated | Not stated | 15-year top-to-bottom | 15-year top-to-bottom |
Specs from maker listings.
How long will a 20 lb tank last on the Baron 520 Pro?
A full 20 lb propane tank holds roughly 430,000 BTU. Divide by the output you run:
- All five burners on high (45,000 BTU per hour): about 9.5 hours.
- All five around medium (about 22,500 BTU per hour): about 19 hours.
- Two outer burners on medium for indirect cooking (about 9,000 BTU per hour): about 48 hours.
Those are straight-line estimates from the rated maximum and assume burners scale evenly, which real valves do only roughly. Cold weather also reduces tank pressure and output. A Bluetooth propane tank scale shows the level before a long cook. Use the propane tank runtime calculator for your own numbers.
What about warranty, certification and recalls?
Warranty terms are not on the listing. Broil King publishes coverage by component for each series, so confirm the Baron 520 Pro terms with Broil King and register the grill. Outdoor gas grills sold in the US and Canada are generally certified to the ANSI Z21.58/CSA 1.6 standard for outdoor cooking gas appliances; look for the CSA or ETL mark on the grill's rating plate before buying, especially from a third-party seller.
Check the CPSC recall database at cpsc.gov/Recalls for this model before buying, and before buying used. Clean the burners and cookbox at least each season following how to clean a gas grill, and keep the grill covered; a heavy-duty cover like the Unicook 58-inch fits many 3 to 5-burner grills, but measure first.
Alternatives to the Broil King Baron 520 Pro Gas Grill (Propane)
Weber Genesis E-325 Gas Grill (Propane)
$849.00An extra-large sear zone, PureBlu burners and Weber Crafted griddle and sear grate inserts in a three-burner size.
Best for: serious home grillers who want room to grow
Check price on Amazon
Broil King Regal S 690 Pro IR Gas Grill (Propane)
$2,699.00Six burners, 750 sq in primary, an infrared side burner, rotisserie kit and a 15-year top-to-bottom warranty.
Best for: feeding big crowds and rotisserie roasting
Check price on Amazon
Weber Spirit E-325 Gas Grill (Propane)
$499.00Three burners, cast-iron grates and a 10-year limited warranty for families who do not need five burners.
Best for: weeknight grilling for a family of four
Check price on AmazonHow we chose
We did not test these products in person. Picks are researched from manufacturer specifications and owner manuals, engine and safety certifications where they apply, warranty terms, public recall records, and the recurring themes in verified owner reviews. We favor established brands with large review counts and parts support, match each pick to a real yard size or task, and place it in the tier where its price and capability actually belong.
Sources
- Broil King Baron 520 Pro (876214) owner manual
- Broil King published Baron series specifications
- Amazon product listing and feature specifications
- CPSC recall database
- Owner review themes from verified Amazon purchasers
Frequently asked questions
Broil King vs Weber: which gas grill brand is better?
Neither wins everywhere. Broil King lists more grate area and burners per dollar, as on the Baron 520 Pro, and a 15-year warranty on Regal models. Weber lists stronger sear zones, grillware systems and a 10-year limited warranty on the Spirit. Choose by how you cook. See Broil King vs Weber.
Broil King Baron 520 vs Weber Genesis E-325: which should I buy?
Choose the Baron 520 Pro for crowds and indirect cooking across five burners and 570 sq in. Choose the Genesis E-325 for searing and add-on grillware in a smaller footprint. Compare them side by side in Weber Genesis E-325 vs Broil King Baron 520.
How many burgers fit on the Broil King Baron 520 Pro?
At about 20 to 25 sq in per quarter-pound patty with spacing, 570 sq in of primary space fits roughly 23 to 28 burgers at once, and the warming rack holds buns. Real capacity depends on patty size and how much space you leave for flipping. For a party of 20, one round of burgers plus a second of hot dogs is realistic.
Is 45,000 BTU enough for a five-burner grill?
It is enough for grilling and indirect cooking, but BTU per square inch, about 79 here, is lower than on some grills built for searing. BTU measures fuel burned, not how hot the grates get: grate mass, lid fit and burner design all matter. If searing is your priority, look for a grill with an infrared or dedicated sear burner.
Researched, not professional advice. This page is compiled from published specifications, manuals, labels and owner-review consensus, not hands-on testing. Follow the manufacturer's instructions and product label, and consult a qualified professional where safety, chemicals, fuel or structures are involved. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.