Skip to content

Researched from published specs and owner reviews, not tested in person. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Backyard Gear Calc
Menu

Grills and Griddles

Broil King Regal S 690 Pro IR Review: 6-Burner Twin-Head Grill

Last updated Researched from specs, manuals and owner reviews, not tested in person

Quick answer

The Broil King Regal S 690 Pro IR is for hosts who feed 15 to 25 people: six burners across 750 sq in primary, a 1,700F infrared side burner, a rear rotisserie burner with kit and a 15-year top-to-bottom warranty. Skip it for family cooking, where a $500 three-burner grill does everything you need.

The Broil King Regal S 690 Pro IR Gas Grill (Propane) (model 957944) costs $2,699.00. Broil King lists a twin-head design with 1,150 sq in of total cooking area: 750 sq in primary, a 280 sq in stainless warming rack and a 120 sq in infrared side burner. Six stainless Dual-Tube burners deliver 60,000 BTU, the infrared side burner adds 10,000 BTU and sears at up to 1,700F, and a 15,000 BTU rear burner comes with a premium rotisserie kit. Stainless reversible V-grids, a full-coverage stainless Flav-R-Wave system, a stainless cookbox with cast aluminum end caps, stainless cabinet and shelves, blue LED knob lights and a 15-year top-to-bottom warranty complete the spec.

This review draws on Broil King's published specifications, the listing and owner-review themes; we have not cooked on it. It is the crowd-cooking flagship of our best gas grills. Before spending this much, check your real group size in the grill size calculator.

On this page
  1. Broil King Regal S 690 Pro IR Gas Grill (Propane) specs
  2. What is the Broil King Regal S 690 Pro IR best at?
  3. What is the biggest drawback of the Broil King Regal S 690 Pro IR?
  4. What do owners commonly report?
  5. Who should buy the Broil King Regal S 690 Pro IR, and who should skip it?
  6. How does it compare with the alternatives?
  7. How much propane does the Regal S 690 use?
  8. What about warranty, certification and recalls?
  9. Alternatives to the Broil King Regal S 690 Pro IR Gas Grill (Propane)

Broil King Regal S 690 Pro IR Gas Grill (Propane) specs

SpecValue
Burners6
Output60,000 BTU
Primary cooking area750 sq in
Total cooking area1,150 sq in
Side burnerYes
Sear burnerYes
RotisserieYes
HoodYes
Gratesstainless steel
Model number957944
Warming rack280 sq in stainless
Infrared side burner10,000 BTU, 120 sq in, sears up to 1,700F
Rear rotisserie burner15,000 BTU with premium rotisserie kit
Heat systemFull-coverage stainless Flav-R-Wave
GridsReversible stainless V-grids
CookboxStainless with cast aluminum end caps
CoverBroil King exact fit cover 68490 (sold separately)
Warranty15-year top-to-bottom (per listing)

Specs from Broil King's published specifications and the Amazon listing.

What is the Broil King Regal S 690 Pro IR best at?

Cooking a whole party menu at once. With 750 sq in of primary grate across six burners you can run a sear zone, a medium zone and an indirect zone side by side, and still fit roughly 30 to 37 burgers in one round. The twin-head layout splits the main cookbox into two lids, so one side can roast with the lid down while the other grills with it up.

The dedicated burners cover jobs a standard cart grill cannot. The 10,000 BTU infrared side burner reaches 1,700F for steakhouse-style searing without heating the whole grill. The 15,000 BTU rear burner and included rotisserie kit roast whole chickens, pork loins and prime rib on the spit. The reversible stainless V-grids offer a pointed side for sear marks and a channeled side that catches juices for basting.

Durability is the other strength. A stainless cookbox with cast aluminum end caps, stainless cabinet and a 15-year top-to-bottom warranty are what you want on a grill you expect to keep for many seasons.

What is the biggest drawback of the Broil King Regal S 690 Pro IR?

It is far more grill than most households use. At $2,699.00 it costs more than five Weber Spirit E-325 grills. If you cook for four on most nights and host a big crowd twice a year, you will light one head and pay for the other to sit idle. Many hosts are better served by a mid-size grill plus a 36-inch griddle, which together cost less.

Size and fuel use are the practical costs. A twin-head six-burner is wide and heavy, needs a large patio with the manual's clearances on every side, and takes a long two-person assembly. With all main burners, the side burner and the rotisserie burner running, it can draw 85,000 BTU per hour, which empties a 20 lb tank in about 5 hours.

The listing does not state overall width or weight, so measure your space against Broil King's dimension drawing before ordering.

What do owners commonly report?

Praise themes in verified owner reviews of Broil King Regal grills:

  • Capacity to cook for large groups in one round.
  • Heavy stainless construction and the long warranty.
  • The rotisserie kit and infrared side burner as genuinely used features.
  • Heat retention from the stainless cookbox and Flav-R-Wave system.

Complaint themes:

  • The price, and the size of the box on delivery.
  • Long assembly that needs two people.
  • Propane consumption on full-output cooks.
  • Covers and some accessories sold separately.

Who should buy the Broil King Regal S 690 Pro IR, and who should skip it?

Buy it if

  • You regularly host 15 to 25 people.
  • You want rotisserie roasting and infrared searing built in.
  • You want a freestanding grill with a 15-year top-to-bottom warranty.
  • You have a large patio and room for a twin-head cart.

Skip it if

  • You cook for a family most nights; the Weber Spirit E-325 or Baron 520 Pro is plenty.
  • You are building a permanent outdoor kitchen; a built-in head such as the Blaze Prelude LBM 32 fits an island.
  • You mainly cook breakfasts, smash burgers and stir-fries; a 36-inch griddle suits that better.
  • Patio space is limited.

How does it compare with the alternatives?

Broil King Regal S 690 Pro IR vs other flagship grills
Regal S 690 Pro IRBroil King Baron 520 ProWeber Summit FS38 ENapoleon Prestige 500 RSIB
ModelRegal S 690 Pro IRBaron 520 ProSummit FS38 EPrestige 500 RSIB
Price$2,699.00$1,174.00$3,899.00$1,879.00
Main burners6 Dual-Tube5 Dual-TubeNot on listing4 stainless
Main BTU60,00045,000Not on listing48,000
Primary area750 sq in570 sq inNot on listing500 sq in
Infrared side burnerYes, 1,700FNot listedNot listedYes, 1,800F
RotisserieRear burner and kitNot listedIntegrated rotisserieIR rear burner and kit
Warranty on listing15-year top-to-bottomNot statedNot statedNot stated

Specs from maker listings.

How much propane does the Regal S 690 use?

A full 20 lb tank holds about 430,000 BTU. Using Broil King's rated outputs:

  • Six main burners on high (60,000 BTU per hour): about 7 hours.
  • Everything on, including the side and rotisserie burners (85,000 BTU per hour): about 5 hours.
  • Rotisserie burner alone (15,000 BTU per hour): about 29 hours.
  • Three main burners around medium (about 15,000 BTU per hour): about 29 hours.

For long party cooks, keep a full spare such as the Flame King 20 lb tank with gauge and never swap a tank while any burner is lit. Hosts who cook this much often run a natural gas line instead; see propane vs natural gas grill. Check your own use with the propane tank runtime calculator.

What about warranty, certification and recalls?

The listing states a 15-year top-to-bottom warranty. Read Broil King's warranty statement for the conditions and any component-specific terms, and register the grill. Outdoor gas grills sold in the US and Canada are generally certified to the ANSI Z21.58/CSA 1.6 standard for outdoor cooking gas appliances; look for the CSA or ETL mark on the grill's rating plate before buying, especially from a third-party seller.

Check the CPSC recall database at cpsc.gov/Recalls for this model before buying, and before buying used. Protect the stainless finish with Broil King's exact-fit 68490 cover, and follow how to clean a gas grill, including the infrared burner surface as the manual directs.

Alternatives to the Broil King Regal S 690 Pro IR Gas Grill (Propane)

How we chose

We did not test these products in person. Picks are researched from manufacturer specifications and owner manuals, engine and safety certifications where they apply, warranty terms, public recall records, and the recurring themes in verified owner reviews. We favor established brands with large review counts and parts support, match each pick to a real yard size or task, and place it in the tier where its price and capability actually belong.

Sources

  • Broil King Regal S 690 Pro IR (957944) owner manual
  • Broil King published Regal series specifications and warranty terms
  • Amazon product listing and feature specifications
  • CPSC recall database
  • Owner review themes from verified Amazon purchasers

Frequently asked questions

Broil King vs Weber: how does the Regal S 690 compare with a Weber Summit?

The Regal S 690 Pro IR lists six burners, 750 sq in primary, an infrared side burner and a 15-year top-to-bottom warranty. The Weber Summit FS38 E is Weber's freestanding flagship with an integrated rotisserie and smoker box, at a higher price. See Broil King vs Weber for the brand comparison.

How many people can the Broil King Regal S 690 feed?

With 750 sq in of primary grate it fits roughly 30 to 37 burgers per round, plus a 280 sq in warming rack for buns and sides, which suits parties of 15 to 25. The twin heads let you grill on one side and roast on the other at the same time. See grill size for a party of 20.

What is an infrared side burner used for?

An infrared burner heats a ceramic or metal surface that radiates intense heat, reaching up to 1,700F on this grill. It sears steaks and chops quickly, building a crust without overcooking the inside, and it heats up without warming the main cookbox. Preheat it briefly, sear for a minute or two per side, then finish thick cuts on the main grill.

Should I buy a freestanding grill like the Regal S 690 or a built-in?

Buy freestanding if you may move, rearrange the patio or want everything in one cart. Buy a built-in head if you are building a permanent island with counters, storage and utilities, since built-ins look integrated and can run on natural gas more easily. The trade-offs are covered in built-in vs freestanding grill.

Researched, not professional advice. This page is compiled from published specifications, manuals, labels and owner-review consensus, not hands-on testing. Follow the manufacturer's instructions and product label, and consult a qualified professional where safety, chemicals, fuel or structures are involved. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.